Otl Aicher & Isny Allgäu

The town in black and white – the appearance of Isny. Developed by Otl Aicher in the 1970s. He translated the complexity of the town and its identity into 136 black and white pictorial symbols – the basis of an authentic image that is still valid today. Aicher's attitude, his design and his motifs have been taken up in the design of our products. Our products represent the characteristic Isny and create a connection to the town and the Allgäu. They are unmistakable and genuine – typically Isny.

The designer

Otl Aicher

Otl Aicher, born in Ulm in 1922 as the son of a craftsman, is one of the most important designers of the Federal Republic of Germany. Aicher gained fame above all through the visual design of the 1972 Olympic Games in Munich. He developed complex corporate identities for large companies such as Deutsche Lufthansa, Braun, ERCO and ZDF. From 1972 until his death in 1991, he lived and worked in Rotis in the Allgäu. Aicher was a co-founder of the Ulm School of Design (HfG), where the HfG archive with his work legacy has been located since 1996.

Products in Otl Aicher Design

Our product line with the original Aicher pictorial symbols. The complexity of “the Allgäu near Isny” radically reduced to 136 motifs that do not describe or depict Isny, but invite you to perceive it for yourself, to experience it authentically on site: Tourism advertising that breaks new ground – then as now.

isny-shop-otl-aicher-poster-fir-forest

Otl Aicher Poster: Fir Forest

isny-shop-otl-aicher-memo-01

Otl Aicher Memory

isny-shop-produkt-bandana-fir-forest-05

Otl Aicher Isny Bandana

Products in Isny Design

Isny’s identity is conveyed with every single product in the Isny design. They fit the city and are inspired by Otl Aicher in terms of appearance.

isny-shop-product-milk-bottle-white

Isny Milk Bottle 1000 ml

isny-shop-product-coloured-pencils-banderole

Isny Coloured Pencils

isny-shop-product-neckwarmer-01

Isny Neckwarmer

Isny products

Isny products are sustainably produced by companies located in Isny, private individuals and small businesses, manufactured in the region and the materials also come from here. Like the entire design, they are a reference to the region, nature and tradition. Otl Aicher’s design approach has been consistently developed and revitalised here – modern, edgy, authentic – genuine Isny!

isny-shop-product-isny-gin

Isny Gin

isny-shop-product-cheesewrap-01

Isny Beeswax Cheesewrap

isny-shop-product-skipping-rope-01

Isny Skipping Rope “Springseil“

Isny Allgäu

The Isny Shop in the “Hallgebäude“

Our products are also available in the newly opened Isny Shop. The shop is part of the Isny Info in the newly renovated Hallgebäude in the heart of the town. Here too, Isny presents itself to its guests and citizens very directly in the town’s typical corporate design: Otl Aicher’s signature can be found in the design concept of the entire building.

Otl Aicher & Isny Allgäu

Die Stadt in Schwarz und Weiß – das Erscheinungsbild von Isny. In den 1970er Jahren entwickelt von Otl Aicher. Die Vielschichtigkeit der Stadt und deren Identität setzt er in 136 schwarz-weißen Bildzeichen um – die Basis eines bis heute gültigen und authentischen Erscheinungsbildes.
Aichers Haltung, sein Design und seine Motive haben wir bei der Gestaltung unserer Produkte aufgegriffen.
Unsere Produkte repräsentieren das charakteristische Isny und schaffen eine Verbindung zur Stadt und zum Allgäu. Sie sind unverwechselbar und echt – typisch Isny eben.

Der Gestalter

Otl Aicher

Otl Aicher, 1922 in Ulm als Handwerkersohn geboren, gehört zu den bedeutendsten Gestaltern der Bundesrepublik Deutschland. Bekanntheit erlangte Aicher vor allem durch die visuelle Gestaltung der Olympischen Spiele 1972 in München. Er entwickelte komplexe Erscheinungsbilder großer Unternehmen wie die Deutsche Lufthansa, Braun, ERCO oder das ZDF. Von 1972 bis zu seinem Tod 1991 lebte und arbeitete er in Rotis im Allgäu. Aicher war Mitbegründer der Ulmer Hochschule für Gestaltung (HfG), wo sich seit 1996 das HfG-Archiv mit seinem Werknachlass befindet.

Produkte im Otl Aicher Design

Unsere Produktlinie mit den Original Aicher Bildzeichen. Die Vielschichtigkeit „des Allgäus bei Isny“ radikal reduziert auf 136 Motive, die Isny nicht beschreiben und nicht abbilden, sondern zum eigenen Wahrnehmen, zum authentischen Erleben vor Ort einladen: Tourismuswerbung, die neue Wege geht – damals wie heute.
isny-shop-otl-aicher-plakat-tannenwald

Otl Aicher Plakat: Tannenwald

isny-shop-otl-aicher-memo-01

Otl Aicher Memo

isny-shop-produkt-halstuch-tannenwald-05

Otl Aicher Halstuch

Produkte im Isny Design

Mit jedem einzelnen Produkt im Isny Design wird die Identität Isnys transportiert. Sie passen zur Stadt und sind in Sachen Erscheinungsbild an Otl Aicher angelehnt.
isny-shop-produkt-milchflasche-weiss

Isny Milchflasche 1000 ml

isny-shop-produkt-farbstifte-banderole

Isny Farbstifte

isny-shop-produkt-schlauchtuch-01

Isny Schlauchtuch

Isny Produkte

Die Isny Produkte werden von Isnyer Unternehmen, Privatpersonen und kleinen Betrieben nachhaltig erzeugt, in der Region hergestellt und auch die Materialien stammen von hier. Sie sind, wie das gesamte Design, eine Referenz an Region, Natur und Tradition. Otl Aichers gestalterischer Ansatz wurde hier konsequent weiterentwickelt und neu belebt – modern, kantig, authentisch – echt Isny!
isny-shop-produkt-isny-gin

Isny Gin

isny-shop-produkt-kaesetuch-01

Isny Käsetuch

isny-shop-produkt-springseil-01

Isny Springseil

Isny Allgäu

Der Isny Shop im Hallgebäude

Unsere Produkte sind auch im neu eröffneten Isny Shop erhältlich. Der Shop ist Teil der Isny Info im frisch renovierten Hallgebäude im Herzen der Stadt. Auch hier präsentiert sich Isny seinen Gästen und Bürgern ganz unmittelbar im typischen Corporate Design der Stadt: Otl Aichers Handschrift ist im Gestaltungskonzept des ganzen Gebäudes zu finden.